The sand, the ocean and the bright blue sky

Senegal’s tourism is one of the most important parts of the country’s economy nowadays, and for the past decades it has tried to reach beyond visitors from just France. Senegal is externally bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and the high temperatures all year round make the country a fantastic balneary tourism destination.

Hoje em dia o turismo no Senegal é uma das partes mais importantes de sua economia, e nas últimas décadas tem tentado atrair visitantes além dos franceses. O Senegal é banhado pelo Oceano Atlântico na sua costa oeste, e possui altas temperaturas o ano todo que fazem dele um país ideal para o turismo balneário.

Île de Gorée, Senegal | Mercredi 4 Septembre 2013

Gorée Island was the first place to amaze me – at first for its dark history, but then for its colorful and vivid scenery.  Located 2 km at sea from the main harbor of Dakar, and with a population of a thousand inhabitants, the home of the Door of No Return has become a famous destination for people interested in the Atlantic slave trade. The island was one of the first places in Africa to be settled by Europeans, with the Portuguese arriving in 1444, followed by the Dutch, the British and finally the French. In this tiny island I first learned about the Baobab, a magical plant also known as the upside down tree. Baobabs have a shallow and very wide spreading root system so that they can immediately take up the first rains of the season, and they can go without water for years. These ancient trees live for centuries, millenniums and blooms gloriously in spring. They are believed to have magical entities living inside of them – old souls that just never left earth. So, whenever anyone is born, the first thing you do is bring it under the tree, to receive its blessings, and when they die, you bring them back, to allow them to say goodbye.

A Ilha de Gorée foi o primeiro lugar a me surpreender – a começar pela sua historia sombria, mas depois pelo seu colorido e vívido cenário. Localizada a 2km do porto de Dakar, e com uma população de mil habitantes, a casa da Porta Sem Retorno tornou-se um famoso destino para as pessoas interessadas no comércio de escravos no Atlântico. A ilha foi um dos primeiros lugares na Africa a serem colonizados pelos Europeus, com a chegada dos Portugueses em 1444, seguidos pelos Holandeses, Britanicos e finalmente pelos Franceses. Foi nessa pequena ilha que eu aprendi sobre o Baobab, uma planta magica que é conhecida como uma arvore de cabeça para baixo. Os baobabs tem raizes curtas e compridas que se espalham pelo chão, absorvendo as primeiras aguas da chuva, elas podem viver na seca por anos. Essas arvores vivem por centenas, milhares de anos, e dão flores em toda primavera. Os locais acreditam que entidades magicas habitam dentro dos seus grossos troncos – almas antigas que nunca deixaram a terra. Então, sempre que alguem nasce, a primeira coisa que você faz é leval-lo até a arvore, para receber as bençãos e boas vindas, e quando eles morrem, você o leva de volta, para que possam dizer adeus.

Ngor, Senegal | Dimanche 29 Septembre 2013

To visit Ile de Ngor, the Senegalese load the visitors into a Pirogue (traditional fishing canoe where everyone crams in with their orange vests). The round trip visit to the island costs $500 Francs and only takes five minutes. On the bay side we found quiet white sandy beaches where we swam, relaxed, ate lunch and napped. I call it a successful day!

Para visitar a ilha de Ngor, os senegaleses se amontoam nos pequenos barcos conhecidos como Pirogue (longas canoas tradicionais de pesca cheias de gente de colete salva-vidas). A viagem de ida e volta custa $500 Francos e pode ser feita em menos de cinco minutos. Do lado da baía encontramos uma praia tranquila de areia branca, onde nós nadamos, relaxamos, almoçamos e dormimos. Isso é o que eu chamo de um dia de sucesso!

Îles des Madeleines, Senegal | Samedi 19 Octobre 2013

The third island I have visited has been my favorite so far. Exactly 13 minutes away from Dakar, Le Parc National des Iles de la Madeleine is the smallest national park in the world, and its main island is known as Snake Island – I have not yet learned why/do not care to learn why. The island is formed by steep cliffs that have been carved by the sea over millions of years, and once I climbed over at the edge of the ocean, I fell in love with how peaceful and alluring it was. All I know is that I have decided to be the little king of my own little island! Because of its apparent barrenness and the past inability to cultivate the land of the island, local lore dictates that evil spirits inhabit it which prevent its being populated – one more reason for me to live there all by myself. I think being away from the hectic city lifestyle, the unbearable heat,  and the Senegalese wolof for an entire day did the trick for me, it is fair to say that I have a soft spot for paradise islands.

A terceira ilha que visitei foi o meu favorito até agora. Exatamente 13 minutos do Dakar, Le Parc National des Iles de la Madeleine é o menor parque nacional do mundo, e sua principal ilha é conhecida como Ilha das Cobras – Eu ainda não aprendi por que / não me importo de saber o porquê. A ilha é formada por íngremes penhascos que foram esculpidas pelo mar ao longo de milhões de anos, e uma vez que eu subi em cima da beira do oceano, eu me apaixonei com a paisagem pacífica e sedutora que a ilha me ofereceu. Tudo que eu sei é que eu decidi ser o reizinho da minha pequena ilha! Por causa de sua aridez e incapacidade de ser cultivada, a lenda local diz que os maus espíritos habitam a ilha, e impede que uma civilização se estabeleça – mais um motivo para eu viver lá sozinho. Eu acho que estar longe da vida agitada da cidade, o calor insuportável, e wolof do Senegal por um dia inteiro fez o truque para mim, é justo dizer que eu tenho um ponto fraco por ilhas paradisíacas.

Meu reinado no menor parque nacional do mundo começa agora. Daqui não saio, daqui ninguem me tira.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The sand, the ocean and the bright blue sky

  1. Cris Cassimiro says:

    Olha o menino acenando do lado hahaha muito legal!!

Take your time writing a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,119 other followers

