The second half

Sur le chemin de Sokone, Senegal | Lundi 28 Octobre 2013

I didn’t come to Senegal solely for the academics. What drew me to this program more than anything else was the opportunity to do an internship during part of my stay in West Africa. The idea of spending seven weeks in a classroom in Dakar leaning French, a new language (Wolof) as well as taking country analyses, public health and sustainability and environment courses was great, but spending six extra weeks simply working and experience the pace of life in a small village is what made me sign up for the Minnesota Studies in International Development.

Eu não vim para Senegal exclusivamente pela parte acadêmica. O que me atraiu para este programa mais do que qualquer outra coisa foi a oportunidade de fazer um estágio durante minha estadia na África Ocidental. A idéia de passar sete semanas em uma sala de aula em Dakar aprendendo francês, uma nova lingua (Uolofe), bem como aumas de análises do país, a saúde pública, sustentabilidade e ambiente, entre outras, era boa, mas de passar seis semanas extras simplesmente trabalhando e experimentando o ritmo de vida em uma pequena vila no meio do nada foi o que fez com que eu me inscrevesse para o programa de Estudos de Minnesota sobre o Desenvolvimento Internacional (MSID).

On Monday I left the Ndiaye Diagne’s house at 6 in the morning. Ready to abandon the big, chaotic capital and and move to the town of Sokone: 139 Mi south of Dakar, population of 14.450 and a total surface of 4.6 Mi². It was a long day traveling that started with a flat tire, followed by us getting stuck on the mud as we try to drop of student by student on their internship places. By the time I arrived in my new house, it was already 7 pm. Even though I’m super pumped about my internship at the City Hall, and can’t wait to see how they do politics in Africa, I’m mostly looking forward to the new cultural aspects I’ll encounter in the coming weeks. I’m also very aware I shouldn’t be building up expectations, but I had to make a list of things I’m hoping will happen during my internship phase. This has become more of a To-Do list for me:

  • Bond with Host Mom #7
  • Spend quality time with the siblings
  • Stay away from malaria and parasites
  • Read the pre-departure informational packet
  • Ride a horse cart
  • Learn how to prepare the traditional ataaya tea
  • Live in a hut
  • Raise chickens
  • Eat those chickens for dinner once a week
  • Eat their eggs for breakfast
  • Eat warm bread in the morning
  • Raise a cow/sheep
  • Have its milk with my morning cereal
  • Eat the cow/sheep before my departure
  • Eat my meals with my hands
  • Learn how to cook Yassa Poulet
  • Exercise
  • Take siestas

Na segunda-feira eu saí da casa da Família Ndiaye Diagne às 6 da manhã. Pronto para abandonar a grande e caótica capital e me mudar para a cidade de Sokone: à 224 Km de Dakar, uma a população de 14.450 habitantes e uma área total de 12 Km². O dia de viagem foi longo: começamos com um pneu furado, e depois atolamos na lama enquanto tentávamos deixar aluno por aluno onde iriam fazer seus estágios. Eu acabei chegando na minha casa nova só às 19hrs. Mesmo estando muito empolgado para o meu novo estágio na Câmara Municipal, e ansioso para ver como eles fazem política na África, eu mal posso esperar pelos novos aspectos culturais que eu vou encontrar nas próximas semanas. Eu também estou consciente de que não deveria construir muitas expectativas, mas eu tinha que fazer uma lista de coisas que espero que aconteçam durante a fase do meu estágio. Então essa é uma lista de afazeres antes de qualquer outra coisa:

    • Criar um vinculo com a mãe anfitriã #7 
    • Passar tempo de qualidade com os irmãos 
    • Evitar malária e parasitas 
    • Ler o guia de informações pré-partida 
    • Andar de carroça 
    • Aprender a preparar o tradicional chá ataaya 
    • Morar em uma cabana 
    • Criar galinhas 
    • Comer as galinhas para o jantar uma vez por semana 
    • Comer seus ovos no café da manhã 
    • Comer pão quente de manhã 
    • Criar uma vaca/carneiro 
    • Tomar seu leite com meu cereal matinal 
    • Comer a vaca/carneiro antes de partir 
    • Comer minhas refeições com as mãos 
    • Aprender a cozinhar Yassa Poulet 
    • Fazer exercícios 
    • Dormir a siesta 
3 thoughts on “The second half

  1. Eura C says:

    omg that picture from Calypso… fb plz? Tu me manques!

  2. ib143 says:

    wow! surely that’s one adventure you won’t forget…. and Africa? I love to go there someday! :-)

  3. tommyshaw says:

    Awesome blog mate, what an adventure!

Take your time writing a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,149 other followers

