Can’t stop dreaming

Rapunzel: I’ve been looking out of a window for eighteen years, dreaming about what I might feel like when those lights rise in the sky. What if it’s not everything I dreamed it would be?

Flynn Rider: It will be.

I never thought I would ever watch Walt Disney’s Tangled, nonetheless feel like Rapunzel (without the golden hair) and quote it as my life story.

But jokes aside, here are the facts; I did spend eighteen years of my life wondering what was out there, dreaming of throwing myself into the world, and thanks to the Rotary Youth Exchange Program, I did so. Two weeks after my eighteenth birthday I packed a suitcase and left for Apple Valley, Minnesota.

I had the American dream, I lived the American dream. And yes, it was everything I dreamed it would be. For two and a half years I had a great time, I made unforgettable friends and lived with amazing host families that gave me nothing but love, and took me in as one of their own.

Rapunzel: And what if it is? What do I do then?

Flynn Rider: Well,that’s the good part I guess. You get to go find a new dream.

Right now that is what I am doing, I found a new dream, and I am out again living it.

So, cheers to that.

À bientôt.

  • Post’s Photo: Hitchhiking through the Patagonia, July 18th, 2011.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Can’t stop dreaming

  1. Honey! I don’t care if you think it is dorky but I LOVE Tangled! (I saw it in France with Christine last year as a Rotary fundraiser). But I love your analogy, it is very perfect. I’m so glad you are having such a wonderful time there. gros bisous. j’ai adoré ton examen😉

  2. A Ruivinha says:

    I love your blog! Keep linking the updates to facebook:)
    I likewise LOVE Tangled, but then again i’m a Disney fan :]
    Keep dreaming, nunca pare!
    Beijos seu lindo!
    :*

  3. Denise /host mama says:

    Love it!!!! You are amazing and a true asset to this world we live in….keep living the dream! Love ya!

  4. Keep the dreams alive! I will put Tangled on my movies to watch list! Thanks for checkin my blog!

  5. “If you no have a dream, how you gonna have a dream come true?” I believe that is what Bloody Mary said in the movie “South Pacific.” Keep dreaming! Life is Precious!
    Joy

  6. I love the photo on this blog post. Like the writing, it’s so expressive!

  7. thebooksnthelooks says:

    Great picture! My boyfriend just came back from a month in Chile (including summiting Cerro San Lorenzo in the Patagonian Range) and he loved it there!

  8. Atlee Greene says:

    Love your blog. I hope to start traveling again in the next year or two. Reading your posts gave me some motivation!

  9. i love this – what you are going is scary, but so cool. envious.

  10. 3arrington says:

    I always feel that blogging is a game and as I want more views I am always reluctant to view other bloggers as I feel they will beat me in total number of views. I have started to wake up to the fact that I’m being stupid and have been looking at a few pages recently. None though that make me want to get to know the person or feel like I have a connection. Yours on the other hand allows people in without asking any questions. I like your style. Good work.

    • Marcos C. says:

      I appreciate your words, and the simple fact that we visited my blog and shared your thoughts with me, that is why I love writing, it is a great way to meet people and see different perspectives.🙂

Take your time writing a comment

