Can’t settle

I admit that I never quite know where I am going next, but a funny fact is that in the past two and a half years I have lived in 7 different houses, in 6 different cities, in 3 different countries.

I am always packing and unpacking and I’ve gotten quite good at that. That is the easy part, the hard part is getting used to a new place over and over again. I just finished my second week of classes at the University of Bordeaux 3 – Defle, and I feel like I got a pretty good routing going on already.

I have 16 hours of class every week, 3 pretty easy going teachers and a few good friends at Defle. About 3 or 4 times a week, Australians Jess and Jenny, Swedish Hillevi and I have dinner together, always alternating between our dorms. Cooking and eating in a group is great, it is always more fun and even healthier in our case. On our table there is always some bread, cheese, veggies and meat. Not forgetting the most important of all; the wine. Our dinners are long, most times we start cooking 18:30 and always chill around afterwards, drinking wine and munching on some good fresh made baguette with Camembert.

A couple times a week we go to the grocery store, usually on Mondays, since that is our day off. Thursdays and Fridays we go out for a drink or just get together again. We’ve even met up to go jogging together, even if that means just running up to the bakery, getting some bread, and running back home.

Occasionally I go out with Rotex and Rotary Exchange Students, those are still fundamental in my life, I don’t know what I would do without my Rotary Family.

Routines are not always a good thing, I have always been afraid of falling into them. But in a foreign country, where I can’t speak much of the native language, having a routine means safety for me. If I’m having fun and enjoying my time throughout my week, why not just repeat it until I go back home?

Not gonna lie, I could really get used to this pretty easily.

  • Post’s photo: Moving out of the Petrie’s with Roch’s help, December, 2011.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Can’t settle

  1. Amalie Juul Hansen says:

    The whole thing sounds amazing, wish I could see it with mt own eyes! I miss you and hope you are doing great! Kisses from Minnesota

  2. mercie salut! happy travels, thank you,so kind of you to leave a positive comment on the thunderrollsfromher blog

  3. orlando gustilo says:

    In Walking the Bible, Bruce Feiler wrote that the “contemporary methods of learning” were “traveling, talking, and experiencing.” It sounds like you’ve got it made!

  4. It sounds like you have a very interesting life. You are gaining so much life experience by becoming absorbed in other cultures even if it is for a short period of time. Sounds like the good life.

  5. Susan Barsy says:

    very sweet photos–love the b&w–enjoy france!

  6. Wow, what an amazing coincidence you liked my new adventures. We have moved on average every 6 months for the last 5 years. Including living in a popup camper on a lake. We are now getting ready for our first international move. WOOHOO So excited. So looking forward to reading about your packing and living lifestyle so we can get some pointers b/c we have NO CLUE WHAT TO PACK!! Wouldn’t it be nice to just be able to go places and not need STUFF to pack?

    Following and recommending for University of Freedom!

  7. Reblogged this on University of Freedom and commented:
    This Chick Rocks! Not sure what she does school for but if she can pack and unpack easy then she rocks! OUCH New upgraded pacemaker really sends some strange new signals through the body. Saying focus on what I’m doing, whew.

  8. Lilly Loompa says:

    Hello…I find your blog very refreshing as we firstly share the same theme🙂. Secondly we have another thing in common…moving! I know the feeling of packing & unpacking but after 17 moves in 9 years I am ready to pack out for good.
    I haven’t been fortunate to live in another country but have traveled quite bit both locally & abroad. God had now called us to Johannesburg and we are ready to settle at last! Will be back to check where you’re off to next!!

    • Marcos C. says:

      17 moves? wow, that is a record. I dont know if I want to get there, but I probably will, seriously!
      I hope everything goes well for you and that you finally settle if that is what you wish for.

  9. Maya Panika says:

    You seem an interesting guy, living life. Nice to meet you – and thanks for liking my review!

  10. Chiryuu says:

    I’ve also moved many times throughout my life, though, from the first half of my life, it wasn’t completely voluntary. I don’t mind moving a lot, and packing and unpacking is also something that I can do easily too, but always, the hard part is assimilating to change. I’m finding it harder to cope with sometimes as I grow up and make new friends because of all the goodbyes and farewells one must go through. But its always interesting to read how others cope with moving a lot also.

  11. project1979 says:

    Love your positivity!

  12. Purely.. Kay says:

    This was definitely a wonderful post to read🙂. Congratulations on your new adventure.. you definitely inspire🙂.

  13. Thanks for this great read – I’m glad that you’re enjoying yourself. 🙂 I’ll be coming back for another dose of optimism… 😛

  14. namitalad says:

    Good to read this post as currently i’m going thru the same situation…i have posted about it in my Gypsy blog..being in IT field we have to keep moving our base locaiton and this i didn’t care to even unpack my bags…so the next time it will be easy to just move out🙂

  15. When I went off to college 39 years ago, I started a period that lasted about 29 years of moving every 3-6 months. It was tiring but fun.

  16. I really didn’t mean to post as “Anonymous” up there, Marcos. Computer glitch.😉

  17. Tina says:

    Living on the edge is a good thing, change works, no stagnating.
    Good luck in your endeavors

  18. Eimear says:

    Also empathise with the moving thing – although you seem to have done it much more often than me. I think the fact you’re living in France to learn French is so exciting, and I’m quite jealous – it’s something I’d like to do but I’m not ballsy enough to go do it. Out of interest, how do you manage to fund it all? Best of luck with it all.

  19. “We change, we grow up, we fuck up, we love, we hurt, we’re teenagers, and we’re still learning.”

  20. nyx says:

    Hi Marcos! I find it is also harder to pack and move after one has kids–the settling starts to become something I look for, as the kid makes friends, and routine gets easier. But after packing my whole life into a tiny suitcase last year, and leaving everything behind, it also came with a sense of freedom and joy. Now I know that travel is one of the best gifts I can give my son, and all the experience that comes with it. Wish you the best on your journeys!

  21. tpletcher says:

    Interesting work.

  22. greenegirl99 says:

    France?? Oh gosh…you are living my dream!

    My parents both being in the military have lived all over. My dad was born in Paris, he’s from California, he lived in Thailand and my oldest sister was born in Germany while my parents were on duty there. I live in Tennessee now, I was born in Oklahoma, and I lived in the great state of Oregon.

    Have fun, be careful…take PLENTY of pictures, and keep us updated! Good luck!~

  23. demoncat4 says:

    if nothing else with all your moves you make some new memories of the new places. and you will find your routine you got in the long run right now will help if nothing else maybe make you want to stop moving so much in the end mate

  24. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

  25. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Can’t settle Sorry, I can't stay long .

Take your time writing a comment

