Can’t quit learning – part 2

Moving is improving, at least so far.

I like to think I become a new person every time I move, not necessarily a better one, but someone that understands it’s own needs and particularities better.

I lived in Brazil for 18 years without truly knowing who I was. I studied and grew up surround by the same group of people all along, we were together for my entire life, and I am not necessarily talking about best friends here, but classmates and acquaintances.

Growing up in a place where everyone expects you to behave and act a certain way gets hard.  It gets to a point where you become a caricature of yourself, you do things without knowing why you are doing them, just because that is how you’ve been doing it all along. I never had any room to change, to grow, or even understand who I was or what I was doing there.

So yes, I believe that moving is improving, at least it is when you learn how to take advantage of it. I am not afraid to settle, I know it will happen, I want it to happen one day, but until then, I’ll just jump from place to place and see what I like.

  • Post’s photo: The view from house in Pirapora, Brazil.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Can’t quit learning – part 2

  1. Ged says:

    They say a change is as good as a holiday.🙂

  2. I enjoy reading your blog. You have a good outlook on the world.

  3. BonMinou says:

    Fabulous…keep moving and learning! I wish you good fortune in your travels.

  4. awinkandanod says:

    Just to be able to have the time to be within others’ parameters makes the osmotic process of education so much easier. If parents urged their governments to create EXCHANGE Schools that would lead to study in, at least, five “regions” we’d have less stupidity because of a LACK of UNDERSTANDING and KNOWLEDGE.
    Keep doing what you’re DOING.
    “D” / om

  5. Enjoy every minute of it. 🙂

  6. Anna says:

    Moving makes you wiser because then you learn a lot and it helps mold who you are. Your perception of things, people and places become altered and I think it’s always a good thing to not be stuck in a rut and take in the changes🙂

  7. Alex says:

    I adore you Marcos, you really get it and you’re an inspiration to those of us that are going to have to figure out what the next big thing after their exchange year is.❤

  8. Thais Caxito says:

    Well, I think I’ve already told you you’re the most fearless person I know. I mean, I know a lot of people like you, ”wanderers”, me being one of them haha But you are just so fucking reckless! You don’t really give a shit about any problem that may appear in your way. You know that this is the best way of living, so just keep wandering and I’ll meet you on the way!

  9. thedunkirk says:

    I applaud you for traveling and learning about other places and people. You’re life will be enriched when you do settle down, and you’ll know more about who you are and what you want. Kudos to you.

  10. emmalord says:

    I’ve just read through your latest posts and I love the life you’re living.
    Keep it up and keep blogging; I’ll keep reading.

  11. Enjoy as much as you can, then you´ll have time to settle down.

    “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”

    Saint Augustine

    • Marcos C. says:

      I loved the quote, thank you, and that is absolutely true, I am very lucky to have all these opportunities, and I know that, that is why I take advantage of it and enjoy everything as much as I can

  12. Anna Harte says:

    Great post. Can definitely relate to 18 years/being raised in the same place, and how different it feels to then start changing locale…seems like time moves differently when traveling, like a year of new places feels longer than a year in the same one…

  13. deshipley says:

    “It gets to a point where you become a caricature of yourself, you do things without knowing why you are doing them, just because that is how you’ve been doing it all along.” — profound! And a trap that I certainly hope to avoid. Thanks for the food for thought.

  14. […] It’s what the hypemachine has the potential to help bloggers do to music consumption.  Through aggregation of quality content, alltop can put bloggers on the map.  After all, bloggers are the coolest and they’re changing the world, so why not enable them to fund their dreams and journeys? […]

  15. lmrh5 says:

    Reblogged this on lmrh5.

  16. […] Can’t quit learning – part 2. […]

Take your time writing a comment

