Couldn’t stay home during my first break


Even though I had almost 10 days off of school last week I didn’t travel much. I stayed in Bordeaux most of the time and walked around, discovered the city, the pubs, the public gardens.

But during the weekend, Rotex Emilie Gravelle drove me, two other Rotex and Inbound Sarah-Jane Fish to Arcachon; a small, charming city in the southwestern coast of France, about 80KM away from Bordeaux. I was very excited to not only see the city, but touch the Atlantic, 10.000 Km away from home.

We walked around the bay for hours, the day started out gorgeous. For lunch, we stopped at this great local restaurant-creperie called L’Ilot, and for the first time I had Moules marinière (mussels), something I had never seen or heard of before. I still don’t know how I feel about it though, it is good, interesting to say the least, but I definitely wouldn’t order an entire bucket for myself.

I had a great time playing with it though, we all had fun there, and before we finished lunch we even got a Complementary Jar of Sangria, typical wine punch from Portugal and Spain. We must be really cool or something, or not. Still, that was a good ending for my tasting experience, since I had never had it like that before either.

As it started to get colder, we decided to hear back home and visit the Dune du Pyla next time, so now we have an excuse to go back!

  • Post’s photo: Arcachon’s entrance sign, February 26th, 2012
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Couldn’t stay home during my first break

  1. Alan Sexton says:

    You know, Marcos, many among us often go long stretches between trips and it then becomes easy to forget the joys of exploration and friendships. You reminded me of these joys today. Thank you.

  2. Modules are delicious! Worth trying again, perhaps with a garlic or blue cheese sauce…🙂

  3. mizqui says:

    Nothing beats “FUN in the SUN with FRIENDS” in the recreational sum. Yum!!!!! Thanks for sharing the good times! We’re on SPRING BREAK this week and “GOOD TIMES” is the only language we’ll speak.

    Oui!!!!!

  4. greenegirl99 says:

    That sounds like soooooooo much fun! Just chillin’ out with your friends for spring break…gosh.

  5. Wow – your travels sound so much fun! There is nothing more exciting than discovering a new city and living in different countries. Those are experiences that money cannot buy. Now my feet are itching to move – once again… I love your motto!

  6. themadgayman says:

    I am jealous! I wish I were in Europe. It sounds so exquisite right now. *sigh* Well, I will live vicariously through your posts.

    PS- I cannot eats mussels due to the fact that I’m gay and they look too much like a vagina… KIDDING! No, I just don’t like fish very much.

    • Marcos C. says:

      I KNOW! That is what I thought when I first saw them, I am not gonna eat something that while on my plate looks like it still has it reproductive system still intact! It is just crazy!

  7. We like what your blog represents and will come back often..

    Much sucess to you Marcos!

  8. podnumber2 says:

    I love it! I have to say, I really like your site. It’s great to see evidence of someone grabbing life.🙂

  9. Hey Marcos…and keep doin’ what you’re doin’.
    I’ve got half a century under my belt and I still can’t keep still!

  10. I’ve nominated you for an award because I enjoy your blog and the fact that I have to read it in French sometimes which makes me work and that will help for my visit to Senegal at Easter. Check out the award here
    http://mybeautfulthings.wordpress.com/versatile-blogger-award/

  11. Maggie O'C says:

    My first and only mussel experience was when I went to school in France, I believe I had them in Biarritz and then my first Sangria in San Sebastian, Spain. Have a great time!

  12. How-do-you-do? an impressive information buddy. Thank you However I am having problem with the rss . Don’t know why Fail to subscribe. So anybody facing identical rss problem? Anyone who can help please respond. Thank you.

  13. afrocosmo says:

    Having some good old time here. It’s good for the body and soul:)

  14. zbpsdbrsx says:

    Great adventure, nice photos

Take your time writing a comment

