Can’t hate die Kartoffeln

Phase II! I finally get to see something in Germany besides the interiors of the Munich airport. I see germans, germans everywhere! After another long day of traveling, switching trains and eating homemade sandwiches, I finally arrived in Frankfurt.

  • 10H50-12H16 Troyes – Paris
  • 13H40-15H04 Paris – Metz
  • 15H49-16H34 Metz – Forbach
  • 16H54-17H04 Forbach – Saarbrücken
  • 18H58-20H58 Saarbrücken – Frankfurt
  • 23H30-01H20 Frankfurt – Felsberg

Once I got there I was received at the train station by Carolin Dippel, a German Rotary Exchange student that lived with my family in Brazil while I was an Exchange student in Minnesota in 2009/2010. Which means I only cohabited with her for two weeks, three years ago. So I wasn’t sure how things were gonna turn out.

Not to my surprise we hit it off just fine! We went partying on my first night there, I met all of her friends, we got the chance to speak Portuguese, which always makes me happy, and ended up helping her since she went to Brazil just a couple weeks after I had come to visit.

With her family, I had the chance to see some old castles in the region, like the Waldeck Castle. Its ruins lie high above the Baybach valley. It was the main seat of the Hunsrück Family Boos. The castle was in use until 1833 when the family of Boos von Waldeck sold its holdings in the Rhineland. We also visited the Kellerwald-Edersee National Park, Hesse’s only national park.

My favorite part about visiting another country is staying with a family that is welcoming, if they are also great cooks, I woun’t complain. That way I get to taste great, local, homemade food. And so far, I loved german food. By that I mean; KARTOFFELN, kartoffeln everyday! I am not a beer drinker, so potatoes became my favorite german specialty, and I made sure to have them the 7/7 days I spent in Felsberg with the Dippel’s.

Being in a foreign country where I don’t know the language, I thought Germany would scare me a little bit. But I had such great hosts that by the time I left I could even say some words in the native language:

– Hallo!

– Danke für das essen.

– Danke für das frühstück.

– Danke für di kartoffeln.

– Zwei kurze, bite!

– Tschüss!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Can’t hate die Kartoffeln

  1. Every step one takes in a leap of faith builds strength and leads to the next great step forward.

  2. Jnana Hodson says:

    Hey, if you run into my goddaughter, say hi! (OK, just joking … people seem to think everything’s close together, and you just run into every American in Europe at the local Starbucks.)

    Still, she’s in Hamburg, working on a Fulbright.

    It’s great hearing all the cross-culture encounters. Keep expanding your world — and enjoy!

    • Marcos C. says:

      Haha I’m sorry to be the one to tell you this, but I did not ran into her! I looked everywhere. I went to Hamburg and waited, but nothing. Major disappointment in this trip. Ha😀

  3. Pharmk582 says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.

  4. Pharme733 says:

    Are not just words but a clear way to live a life! Will be adopting that! thanks

Take your time writing a comment

