Can’t hate die Kartoffeln – Part 2

Something great about Phase II, a.k.a. Germany, besides potatoes, is that here you can get group train tickets. These group train tickets allow you to travel in a group of up to 5 people, and it comes off really cheap. So that is what I did to get from Kassel, town located on the Fulda River in northern Hesse, to the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, with only €7.

For my surprise, what thought would be the longest train ride, turned out to be extremely interesting as soon as a group of Rotary Exchange students hosted in Germany entered the train.

The only complication I had was not having a place to stay. No big deal, happens all the time, right? Well, the solution was clear to me. The first thing that popped into my head was to go on the Rotary Facebook page created for the former Exchange students and ask;

-Is anyone here going to be around Hamburg this weekend?

That same day I got a response from Annika Peters, former Rotary Exchange Student to Brazil. And that is where I stayed. That same night after I arrived in Hamburg and met up with her, we watched the UEFA European Football Championship match between Denmark x Germany at the Heiligengeistfeld. It was fantastic, the energy from the Germans was unique, and I am very glad I was on the German side that night.

Next day I met up with Philipp, former Rotary Exchange student and my roommate during  the East Coast Trip in 2010. Earlier this semester he had come to Bordeaux, so this was my second time seeing him since our exchange. Philipp lived in Ahrensburg, little town in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. It is part of the Hamburg Metropolitan Region, situated in Stormarn. Its population around 31,700.

Even though I had just seen him a couple of months ago, I felt like this was foreign territory. I would finally meet his friends and his family, after hearing so much about them. I spent four fun days in Ahrensburg with the Roehls, the Ma’am and Sir were very kind and cooked me plenty of kartoffeln.

I partied in Hamburg, walked through the Reeperbahn, street in Hamburg’s St. Pauli district, one of the two centres of Hamburg’s nightlife and also the city’s red-light district. In German it is also sometimes described as die sündige Meile (the sinful mile). Had my first conversation with a lady in a fanny pack – here is a tip for the ladies that are visiting the city, don’t wear fanny packs, or you might get mistaken by someone else.

I left Ahrensburg on the 22nd of June and went to Odense to meet up with Malou Tolstrup Rhode, another former Rotary exchange student.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on “Can’t hate die Kartoffeln – Part 2

  1. azleader says:

    I’m not German, but a long time resident of Phoenix, Arizona USA. It’s hot out here in the Old West of the USA.

    Anyone who honors “Phoenixes” gets my vote of approval.🙂

  2. Pharmd952 says:

    Hi Marcos, I love your philosophy. I’ll take note of it.

  3. Pharmf959 says:

    Hey Marcos,

    You’ve got an interesting blog, and love what you’re doing now
    I’m waiting for your next post

    Cheers …

  4. 5yAVFUe7 says:

    Good luck with your studies and travels I look forward to your future posts.

  5. wvkbpkamr says:

    It sounds like you have a very interesting life. You are gaining so much life experience by becoming absorbed in other cultures even if it is for a short period of time. Sounds like the good life.

  6. This was definitely a wonderful post to read . Congratulations on your new adventure.. you definitely inspire . ;D

  7. I believe we have much in common Marcos! I’ll be back to see how your learning expereinces are going. All the best to you….

  8. maple bonsai says:

    I like your philosophy. Happy travels. BOA VIAGEM.

  9. Omgh are you Brazilian? And I love how you write both english and portugese in some posts. I might start doing that.

  10. Wish I was there to take in the sights. Love this so much! Thanks for sharing.

  11. Thank you for taking us on your journey with you through these blog posts. I admire you! 😀

  12. Enjoy germany❤ I absolutely love it

  13. d'leedon says:

    I hope that more people, especially Americans are introduced to opportunities like these. It would have been a pleasure to have this exchange with this such great International organization as a child.

  14. Muito bom seu blog! Continue compartilhando suas experiencias!!

  15. I really love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you develop
    this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying
    to create my very own website and want to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called.
    Thank you!

  16. our site says:

    Hi Marcos! I love reading your posts because of your amazing positive energy and your zest for life! You may not realize it, but you’re very inspiring!

  17. I am really happy for you that you share these experiences so fondly.❤

  18. I can see that it has greatly impacted your belief in multiculturalism and universal understanding that somebody all the way from some other country you only hear certain things about on the news, has the same types of life experiences and can relate to things exactly as you do.🙂

  19. Brilliant blog with tons of good energy. – happy trails…

  20. Woah making big moves, you astound me! You activate your courage at every turn and refuse to be idle. Good luck.

  21. Hello! I simply want to make a enormous thumbs up with the wonderful story you posted. We are returning to your blog for additional soon.

  22. EU AMO VOCÊ, LINDEZA❤

  23. Esto es realmente genial, eres un blogger muy profesional. Me he unido a tu RSS y deseo leer más cosas en este gran blog. Además, !he compartido tu sitio en mis redes sociales!

    Saludos

Take your time writing a comment

