Can’t be constitutional

vote no

Dear Minnesotans,

I’m well aware that you all have your rights to believe in what you want, and vote for what you believe in. But if you voted “YES” on the Marriage Amendment ballot, I would love to hear from you next time we meet, so you can explain to me why you believe you are more worthy of the right to be happily or unhappily married to whomever you want you, and I’m not.

Sincerely,

A Brazilian who just wants a chance to be happy,

Marcos Carvalho

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Can’t be constitutional

  1. foxress says:

    Change is slow, but it’s coming…

  2. Anonymous says:

    You might consider re-wording that, seeing as technically, ‘they’ don’t have any more rights than you do.

  3. jrtuck says:

    Marriage has not about happiness. Its about commitment. If you try to find happiness in a relationship with another human being either you will destroy them or yourself. Marriage is an institution created to preserve the integrity of the family, nothing more, nothing less. It exists to preserve civil society. Too many children are born outside the protection of this institution and consequences for them are dire. Making a mockery of it, doesn’t serve anyone’s interests and certainly not children. You are free to make whatever personal decsions work best for you, however in a democratic republic the people determine what the law says.

  4. ReySton says:

    I’m a Minnesotan who voted ‘NO’! What a great win!

    • Marcos C. says:

      It was a good turn out, I was very scared we would lose, and I couldn’t go to bed until I saw the results on my computer screen, only then I could rest.

  5. Pharmd546 says:

    Congratulations, you live the dreams of many us!

  6. Pharme640 says:

    Refreshing site! Makes me smile, alot.

  7. stephglaser says:

    I was born and raised in Minnesota, but now I’m a Colorado resident. I sooo wished I could have voted a big NO on the ballot for that proposed amendment. So glad it was defeated. Thanks for your post. And thank you for stopping by Travel Oops!

  8. tobyo says:

    Thank goodness this awful amendment did NOT pass!! I was rather worried about it as it seemed it might just pass. WHEW! There are some whackos that live here in MN, but I am not one of them. Thanks for your like of my bridges post!

  9. leamuse says:

    If marriage is not about people who are in love and want to make a commitment to each other, what is it about? There is nothing more beautiful than seeing people in love and gender has nothing to do with it.

    • Marcos C. says:

      Those are my beliefs exactly, I just don’t understand why some people think it’s so obvious that not everybody deserves the same rights, it’s simply idiotic and ignorant.

  10. wqiwyjlxc says:

    Thanks for this great read – I’m glad that you’re enjoying yourself. I’ll be coming back for another dose of optimism… 😀

Take your time writing a comment

