When you don’t read the packet

IMG_9792

Residence Atlantic, Dakar, Senegal | Mardi 3 Septembre 2013

You see, when you are like me, trying to be adventurous, you don’t want to know what is coming ahead of you. You want to live the moment, to be surprised and be excited for new things. You don’t want to simply read what’s going to happen on an informational packet, sent to you at the comfort of your home. Well, it turns out they do those for a reason: to inform you of things you should be aware of before traveling. So I had to come up with a “To-Don’t List.” I’ve been in Senegal for 24 hours and this is what I’ve learned in practice:

Veja bem, quando você é um pouco como eu, tentando viver aventuras, você prefere não saber exatamente o que vem pela frente. Você quer viver o memento, ser surpreendido, se empolgar com coisas novas. Você não quer simplesmente ler sobre o que irá acontecer num guia de informações, enviado para você no conforto da sua casa. Bom, acontece que esses livros são feitos por uma razão: nos informar de coisas que devemos saber antes de começar uma viagem. Então eu tive que fazer uma lista do que não fazer. Fazem 24 horas que eu estou no Senegal e essas são as coisas que aprendi na pratica:

  • NO! Do not forget to take your yellow fever shot at least ten days before leaving for Senegal. Otherwise they won’t let you in the continent, silly.
  • NO! Do not leave any documents behind, specially that one that says “Registration Receipt.” When entering Senegal you must have all your papers, or you are gonna have a bad time.
  • NO! Do no forget your “malaria pills,” and if you didn’t even know they existed, is because you didn’t read the packet. Note to self: Buy the pills and DO NOT get malaria.
  • NO! You may not eat your meals with both hands. Use only your right hand, like in India. Be proper.
  • NO! Do not bring 10 litters of wine and spirits into a country that is 95% Muslim. Not a good gift for your host family.
  • NO! Don’t think that because it’s Africa it’s hot all the time. It’s rain season, you are going to get wet!
  • NO! Do not drink water from the faucet… Simple as that. But if you do, be happy the WiFi works in the toilet!
    • NÃO! Não esqueça de tomar a sua vacina contra a febre amarela pelo menos dez dias antes de partir para o Senegal. Caso contrario eles não deixarão você entrar no continente Africano, besta.
    • NÃO! Não deixe nenhum documento para tras, especialmente o “Registro de pagamento.” Quando entrando no Senegal você devera ter todos os seus papéis, ou você não recebera seu visto tão facilmente.
    • NÃO! Não é de se admirar que você não sebe o que as “pílulas para malária” são. Dica: compre o medicamento, não pegue malária, mantenha suas hemaceas saudaveis.
    • NÃO! Não coma a sua comida com as duas mãos. Use somente a mão direita, igual na India. Seja limpo.
    • NÃO! Não leve 10 litros de destilados e vinhos para um país onde 95% da população é muçulmana. Esse não sera um bom presente para a familia anfitriã.
    • NÃO! Não pense que porque é a Africa, é quente o tempo todo. Agora é a estação das chuvas, e você vai se molhar.
    • NÃO! Não beba água da torneira… Simples assim. Mas se beber, fique feliz pelo WiFi funcionar no banheiro.

Those around me have gone tired from hearing me say, “Wait, was that on the packet?” So, I apologize. I’m aware that trying to be adventurous will still cost me something, but it hasn’t made my stay in Dakar any more difficult. Well, it has. But it has also made it a lot more memorable. And that is what counts.

Aqueles ao meu redor estão cansados de me ouvir dizer, “Espera, isso tava escrito no guia de informações?” Eu tenho consciência de que tentando ser aventureiro ainda vai me custar alguma coisa, mas isso ainda não fez com que a minha estadia no Senegal seja mais dificil. Bom, na verdade sim. Mas tambem fez da minha viagem muito mais memoravel. E é isso que importa.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “When you don’t read the packet

  1. Anonymous says:

    Adorei!! Hahaha….vc é muito engraçado!!!!

  2. Gabi says:

    Então… the packet must be read. Haha Adoro você, Marcos.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Your WiFi comment made me chuckle

  4. groupage says:

    To be sure with your thought.Thank you for your sharing.

  5. Michelle says:

    Adorei! Me divirto com suas historias!!! Aproveite, sera uma experiencia enriquecedora!

  6. Maria Holland says:

    You travel the world right now?…. what’s after Senegal?

Take your time writing a comment

